Brain Power

As with the last post like this, I have included a few pictures I’ve taken using instagram, just to brighten it up a little.

This Accelerated Learning course isn’t actually accelerating as quickly as I thought it would do, but then I guess that’s partly the point. Hopefully by the end of it I shall be whizzing through the last parts and easily gaining a grasp of it all, however at the moment it is definitely more of a ‘chipping away’ kind of approach. I am continuing on with it though and giving it a reasonable amount of time each day, I just want to make sure that I really have understood the concepts before I move onto the next bit. It feels like I have finally got my head around ‘side 2’ now so here’s a breakdown of the key teachings, largely condensed as that has helped me to remember it and as with the last part of this course there are certain things about it I don’t think are necessary for me to include and there are also some aspects that I can’t fully embrace as I haven’t done any research to corroborate or counteract them. I can still accept them for the sake of completing the course effectively however, for me being skeptical is part of being open minded.

One statement that I definitely agree with, but only on a personal level as it relates to me rather than as a wider doctrine for anybody else is:

‘It is our duty to ourselves to become everything we are capable of becoming.’

That’s kind of my whole reason for doing this course in the first place.

I also believe in the other underlying motivational aspects of the course such as ‘you can accomplish any goal, overcome any obstacle and solve any problem’ and ‘you are the architect of your own brain power’. And although the mandate of ‘whatever you believe with feeling becomes your reality’ is perhaps a little simplified I can certainly accept the general law of attraction concept and understand the reason for it’s inclusion in this teaching course.

Most of the blame attributed by the course for our learning inadequacies are placed firmly with formal education and it’s concentration on linear left brain learning. They argue that it is partly our bad experience of learning the ‘wrong’ way that makes us insecure about our ability to learn now, and the extra build up of stress which occurs from our resistance to learning, in turn suppresses our ability to learn. A vicious circle that has certainly rung true for me in the past.

Although the course states that there are many different style of learning and advocates choosing the correct method for you. There definitely appears to be a bias for more right brain thinkers (of course these are the ones that would probably believe they struggle with learning most).

However, there are a few general pointers which I’m sure should cover every type of learner: Learning is easier when relaxed, calm, positive, stress free and alert; the more fun that learning is, the more effective it becomes; we relate better to lessons we can build an emotional attachment to (e.g. by having enthusiastic teacher); find out what works best for you and do more of it. This might all seem like common sense but when we look at the conditions within which we tend to place learning upon ourselves it tends to be vastly different. I say place upon ourselves because actually, most of the learning we do (general everyday stuff) is actually learned informally and effortlessly, through interaction, observation and feedback.

The course breaks down the basics of how the brain works (again I can;t coo-berate how scientifically sound this information is). We have approximately 100 billion braincells, which are joined by dendrites, tiny threads that branch out from the cells, carrying thoughts and impressions between them as electrical activity. The main point being that “it’s not the number of braincells you have, it’s the number of connections that determines how intelligent you become or how useful your brain is” and the more you use your brain, the more connections you make.

There are 3 types of brain that we have: the primitive reptilian brain which covers such things as breathing or keeping your heart going, it also covers fight or flight and sense of territory; the middle brain (or mammalian brain) covering hormonal system, health, immune system, sexuality, emotions, and an important pat of our long term memory; and the neo-cortex (thinking brain) which is split into the left and right hemispheres: the left brain being the linear and logical side; and the right brain being the more creative and emotional side. Chatting to my mother last night she agreed that I was always more of a right brainer and this makes sense to me. In films and books for example, I can generally remember the underlying emotions and what my feelings about it were, but I find recalling actual details about them a little trickier. I just assumed this to be my brain either aging or being overloaded, same as my difficulty with retaining names, which is partly why I also like the conflicting idea from this session that the only way you lose a tangible amount of brain capability is through accident, major illness or simply by not stimulating your brain enough. Give it enough exercise and stimulation and just like a muscle it’s capacity will grow (it also states that at present we only use 2% of our mental potential). Definitely giving it a good run for it’s money at the moment so I’m hoping this is the case.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

