The Reaping #8

I had a few Hip-hop videos, some Reggae and some Disco to show you guys but actually I think I might give them separate posts some place.  Here’s a few tunes that don’t really fit into any of my usual outlets but that have stuck with me over the past couple of weeks.

Mighty Mouse – Love Is Gonna Lift You Up (Sunset Mix)

This tune is ridiculously feel good, to the point it might make the more cynical amongst you queasy. However drop this in the right mood and you can cultivate a serious smile that won’t leave for the rest of the day. You can also pick up a dubbed out version of this for free here.

Tiny Tim – Living In The Sunlight, Loving In The Moonlight

Actually whilst we’re on that happy tip, Matt The Hat sent me this wicked ‘Yellow Submarine’ style animation from an Adam Buxton programme on Sky. At first I thought it might be him singing but my good friend Cara just pointed out it’s actually Tiny Tim’s 1968 cover of a track originally sung by Maurice Chevalier in the 1930 film ‘The Big Pond’.

Yumi & The Weather – Must I Wait

This is one of those sneaky tunes that didn’t fully grab me the first time, yet kept pulling me back in some how. I think the video definitely helps too, they go perfectly together. These guys are from Brighton but their music definitely has a touch of the Scandinavian about them.

AlunaGeorge – I Wanna Be like You

https://soundcloud.com/3detailsofmylife/alunageorge-i-wanna-be-like

If I’m totally honest, I had the briefest of intense love affairs with AlunaGeorge but it fizzled out after a few tunes and the last bunch of releases and collaborations just haven’t really done anything for me. However, I’m a sucker for this tune and this is a lovely take on it.

Alexander’s Festival Hall – Life Backstage

This reminds me of lots of classic acts all in one, off the top of my head I hear Noel Coward, The Beatles, The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band, The Kinks, Pulp, Queen and a bunch more… though in actuality it doesn’t really sound like any of these.

Jono Mcleery – Painted Blue / Fire In My Hands

The other day, Royce Wood Jr posted these new tracks he produced for London soul singer Jono Mccleery and they blew me away. Apparently they’re from a new album due out on Ninja Tunes in May.  I’ve been trying to get my hands on a copy but they’ve been eluding me so far.

Keaton Henson – What Have You Done To Us

If those didn’t mellow you out to the maximum then allow this beautiful song to tilt you down to the ultimate horizontal level.

Charlotte Church – Nerve

I would never have expected to post a Charlotte Church tune up on here but I think this might be one of the best reinventions (or perhaps development would be a fairer word) of an artist I’ve come across. This suits her a million times better than the pop stuff ever did, it feels totally natural and she shows that she never lost the strength in her voice… beautiful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

