Thank You For No Smoking

This looks like a truly epic concert. I’m looking forwards to watching the whole thing when I’ve got a spare couple of hours, could be one for Sunday night.

The band are Emir Kusturica & The No Smoking Orchestra who have been around since the 80s but only really reached my ears via the film ‘Black Cat, White Cat’ which Emir directed. I have also just discovered that he directed a live Gypsy Punk Opera called ‘Time Of The Gypsies’. There’s a recording of a performance in Paris that I’m just about to track down, looks and sounds right up my street.

I shall be DJing a Gypsy set on 26th October at Tribe Of Frog in Bristol (and a Swing / Gypsy set at The Moon in Cardiff earlier that night as it’s Womex Weekend, more on that later). Be great to see you if you’re in the area.

This entry was posted in Films, music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

