True Dat #1

When I first started watching True Detective, I had an idea (along with every other music blogger no doubt) to do a blog post about the music. Perhaps foolishly I decided to wait until I’d watched them all to get round to it, now there’s far too many great tracks from the series I want to post.

Of course if you’ve seen True Detective, you already know how great the music is, so there’s no need in me telling you about it. If you haven’t then don’t waste any time just listening to the tunes, go watch it now.

Having left this post pretty much useless, let’s begin. I’m gonna have to split the tracks over a few posts and limit them to just 2 per episode, or anyone that has ignored my advice and stayed thus far is never gonna get through them. It’s a tricky choice but here’s what we have for the first 2 episodes.

The Handsome Family – Far From Any Road (Every Episode)

I never intended to include this originally, but it wouldn’t really feel right without. Plus after watching the whole season, and my house mate singing a few lines from it every 20 minutes or so, it’s definitely grown on me a lot more. Not that I didn’t like it in the first place, it’s a great tune, but I couldn’t imagine where I would listen to it outside of a twisted American Neo-Noir Detective series. In fact listening to the rest of The Handsome Family‘s songs (and there are plenty of other good ones), the band seem to exist for just that purpose. If Twin Peaks ever makes a return, there’s plenty of title music possibilities in their back catalogue to choose from.

I certainly couldn’t think of any situation I’d mix this tune into a club set, but just in case I did, DJ Snatch has made this handy edit. I’m still waiting on his edit of Leonard Cohen‘s ‘Everybody Knows’.

As an extra bit of trivia, my house mate pointed out that the track has more verses than will fit into the opening sequence of the show, so in some episodes they have re-edited the tune to allow for the later verses to be heard.

The McIntosh County Shouters – Sign of the Judgement (Episode 1)

There’s some great Gospel tracks in True Detective, but I think it’s the (slightly Ragga Meets Samba style) handclaps that make this one a winner for me though. It sounds like it could be from an old lost recording from decades ago, but The McIntosh County Shouters are actually still about and touring.

C.J. Johnson – You Better Run to the City of Refuge (Episode 2)

Another great Gospel song. If singing Religious songs in Assembly was more like this then I might have actually finished school. My mate Ecklectic Mick is doing a few Gospel remixes at the moment. These ones are ripe for it.

Vashti Bunyan – Train Song (Episode 2)

Vashti Bunyan is a Folk singer from Newcastle who quit the music business back in 1970 after disappointing sales of her first album. However somehow the album received cult status later on and was re-released in 2000. Since then she has released a new album and worked with the likes of Devendra Banhart, Animal Collective, Joanna Newsome and Adem (an often underrated artist who used to be in the band Fridge with Four-Tet and once stayed on my sofa many years ago). This wasn’t actually on the album, it was her 2nd single which came out on Columbia Records in 1966. Wikipedia facts aside, she’s a great singer and this is a beautiful song.

I shall post up Episodes 3 and 4 when I get round to it.

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

