The Get Down

I remember getting lost in The Bronx many years ago. After riding through on the subway and seeing so many iconic images from growing up I had to explore and was transported to a world of Hip-hop history. From the Wildstyle throw up (though I suspect it was a re-up from only a few years before) to the train yards, for such a dedicated Hip-hop head as I was at the time, it felt in some strange (and undoubtedly naive) way like coming home.

Which is perhaps why this new series coming soon on Netflix looks like it has all the right iconography to hook me in. Wildstyle meets Warriors through the eyes of Baz Luhrman. I can’t wait!

As I mentioned in the previous post, we’re thinking of bringing Higher Learning back for a one off special in Cardiff soon. Which means dusting off our old Technics 1210s (none of your SL-1200s for us) which have signatures from Kool Herc, Afrika Bambaata and Grandmaster Flash on them still. I wonder what they will all make of this series. Looks like Flash is already a character in it.

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

