AAA BADBOY – THE JOURNEY CONTINUES

When I decided to embrace AAA Badboy as my new musical persona, I was adamant that I wouldn’t follow a straight path with it. Even though the Reggae mix did really well and I could have easily built up the name as a Reggae DJ, that wasn’t what this was about. So next came a Ska covers mix followed by these next two offerings.

hlvsd

Listen: AAA Badboy – Higher Learning Vs Slipped Disco

With Hip-hop in Wales hitting it’s 30th Anniversary we’ve been coaxed out of Higher Learning hiding to bring the night back to the Welsh capital for some special events this year. This led me to digging out some of my favourite Hip-hop tracks both current and classic to jam at the forthcoming events, in the process I put together this new mix. As I used a bunch of tracks I was saving for a special Slipped Disco mix (another of my old nights that isn’t coming out of retirement yet but exists in the virtual world as a Facebook group) I decided to combine the two.

I had a lot of fun in making this so hopefully you get as much enjoyment from listening to it. It kicks off with a new track from Andy Cooper of Ugly Duckling and ends on Missy Elliott but here’s the full tracklist:

Andy Cooper – Chasing the Funk
X Clan – Grand Verbalizer, What Time Is It
Redman – Blow Your Mind
FU-Schnickens – Breakdown
EPMD – You Gots To Chill
The Notorious B.I.G. – Going Back to Cali
Ice Cube – My Summer Vacation
Kendrick Lamar – King Kunta
LEVELZ – King Of The Disco
Kurtis Blow – Party Time (The Breakbeat Junkie vs DJP Edit)
Jurassic 5 – In the House
Whodini – Magic’s Wand
Missy Elliott – We Run This

shane

Last year I deejayed on St Patrick’s Day, playing a selection not too dissimilar to this one, though with a few more traditional classics. The band before were excellent but the singer stated at the start, “I hate St Patrick’s Day, because I hate religion and I hate patriotism”. Both very fair points and whilst I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiments, no other day has seemed better to use my ancestry as an excuse to drink lots of Guinness and play The Pogues very loudly.

This year with giving up drinking I decided to avoid going out for the first time possibly ever, and I’ve decided I need no excuse to play any rowdy Irish or Irish influenced Folk Punk loudly, so here’s a mix that you can play any day of the year, featuring the likes of Flogging Molly, The Mahones, Dropkick Murphys, The Tossers and of course The Pogues.

Listen: AAA Badboy – Every Day’s St Patrick’s Day

Tracklist:

Neck – Every Day’s St Patrick’s Day
Fiddler’s Green – Irish Air
The Pogues – Sally MacLennane
Sir Reg – Arrive On Saint Patrick’s Day
The Tossers – Siobhan
Shane MacGowan & The Popes – Donegal Express
The Mahones – Drunken Lazy Bastard
Flogging Molly – Drunken Lullabies
Mickey Rickshaw – Pints of Pity
Three Day Threshold – Pub with No Beer
Fiddler’s Green – Irish Rover
The Skels – One for the Road
Dropkick Murphys – Wild Rover

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

