Flight Films

Just landed in Hong Kong for my fourth time at Clockenflap Festival. Although it’s an 11 hour journey, I always enjoy the epic film watching opportunity that invites. Here’s what I opted for this time, I was certainly happy with the selection.

Hunt for the Wilderpeople

I loved Boy and have heard good things about Eagle Versus Shark and What We Do In The Shadows so went straight in on Taika Waititi’s latest offering. Sam Neil is great as Uncle Hec, a jaded New Zealand wanderer, joining his delightfully delinquent foster son on a Rambo mission in the Bush. Every character in this is a winner though, including Rhys Darby (aka Murray from Flight of the Conchords) as Psycho Sam the Bush Man.

League Of Gods

I couldn’t catch a flight to Hong Kong without delving into their local Kung Fu Fantasy films. The flight always seems to have at least one. This had the lot, from mythical palaces run by dragon folk to ninja like saviors trying to stop the forces of darkness from bringing on the end of the world. Very hi-octane and a feast for the eyes, but I didn’t need to watch much to get my fill and opted for a documentary after about half hour or so.

Tickled

I first discovered ‘Searching For Sugarman’ on this same journey a few years back and so was happy to see a documentary that was already on my ‘to watch’ list. I don’t want to give too much away but it’s definitely a worthwhile watch. The basic story starts as an investigation into online competitive endurance tickling, and ends up as a rather disturbing expose of twisted privilege.

What We Do In The Shadows

As I loved Hunt For The Wilderpeople and I was on a New Zealand roll with Tickled being from there also, I went back to check Waititi’s mockumentatry following four vampire in the run up to the ‘Unholy Masquerade’, “a great time for the undead community of Wellington”. Rhys Darby has another brilliant bit part here as the leader of a pack of werewolves.

Fan

I’ve not watched a Shah Rukh Khan film for years and I’m totally out of the loop with Bollywood these days, but I’m guessing he’s still the absolute don. In which case one of the characters he plays here is loosely based on himself, megastar Aryan Khan, whilst the other is an obsessive fan. For the whole film I thought the fan must be played by his son (who perhaps had the same name), but it turned out to be a dual role, very well done indeed! I was doubtful for the first part of the film but I’m glad I stuck with it as it turned out to be a really enjoyable action thriller.

This entry was posted in Films and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

