Coldcut x On U Sound feat. Roots Manuva – Vitals

I have to admit I fell out of love with Roots Manuva a long time ago. After a string of poor performances live and a number of albums that I simply wasn’t feeling, I thought that was it. Then Coldcut brought out ‘Only Heaven’ with him last year and it finally struck a chord again. In fact I loved it.

Now they’re back round with another winning collaboration, plus legendary producer and dub experimentalist, Adrian Sherwood (as On-U Sound once more) is also on board. I don’t think it’s just because the mix of heavy Dub and Hip-hop suits Roots so well, they really seem to have got the best out of him, it’s like he’s back to full strength again, long may it continue!

Coldcut and On-U-Sound have also released a track with Reggae legends Lee Scratch Perry and Junior Reid, which comes with a lovely Mungos Hi-fi refix (listen below).

Both tracks are from the ’Outside The Echo Chamber’ album which is released 19th May via Ahead Of Our Time, the original forerunner to Ninja Tunes which was revived last year.


This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment